Mafikizolo Dominates SAMA 20 With Eight Awards

Check out the full list of winners

By Rolling Stone
Tuesday, 29 April 2014 10:50

Mafikizolo sealed their comeback in triumphant style at the 20th Annual South African Music Awards – winning five awards at the main ceremony on Monday night to add to their three trophies at the industry awards earlier the day. This brings the popular Afro-pop duo's total haul to an incredible eight awards at SAMA 20.

They scooped an armful of trophies for Album of the Year, Duo or Group of the Year, Best Pop Album, Best Collaboration, Best Selling Ring-back Tone, Best Selling Full-track Download and Best Selling Mobile Music Download of the Year.

In the most hotly contested category of the night, the Kia Record of the Year, Mafikizolo featuring Uhuru beat out stiff competition to win the public SMS vote for their mammoth hit song "Khona".

The ceremony at Sun City Superbowl marked 20 years of the SAMAs – held, fittingly, on the Freedom Day public holiday commemorating the country's 20th anniversary of democracy. The main awards were broadcast live on SABC1.

With Mafikizolo dominating SAMA 20 with a near slam-dunk of the main categories, the remainder of the awards doled out on the night reflected a spread of winners. 

Bagging a brace of awards was songstress Zahara, who was crowned Female Artist of the Year for Phendula, which was also named the Best Selling Album of last year. Fellow Eastern Cape songbird Zonke added to her Best Live DVD SAMA (at the industry awards earlier in the day) with the accolade for Best African Adult Album, for Give and Take Live.

The Ladysmith Black Mambazo not only received a SAMA Lifetime Achievement Award on the night – the kings of isicathamiya music also had the International Achievement Award bestowed on them, for their four Grammy Awards and their ongoing role as global ambassadors for traditional South African music. Maskandi stalwart Phuzekhemisi also received a SAMA Lifetime Achievement Award for his exceptional contribution to the richness and diversity of the local music scene.

Kabomo was named Male Artist of the Year for his release Memory Remains, with Naima Kay snatching the award for Newcomer of the Year from a very talented young field. And as many had expected, Mi Casa's Su Casa bagged the gong for Best Dance Album, with Big Nuz scoring Best Kwaito Album honours and Xhosa rapper iFani winning the SAMA for Best Rap Album.

Another closely contested race saw Afrikaans rockers Van Coke Cartel walking off with the honours for Best Rock Album.

It was a good night for Karlien van Jaarsveld, whose Uitklophou snared the award for Beste Pop Album (Afrikaans). Elvis Blue took home his second SAMA in two years – this time for Beste Kontemporêre Musiek Album, for his release Afrikaans, while Shaun Jacobs' album Love Can triumphed in the Best Adult Contemporary Album category.

Last year's Standard Bank Young Artist for Jazz, Shane Cooper, left no one in any doubt about his prowess by securing the SAMA for Best Jazz Album.

Thokozani Langa was named the victor in the Best Maskandi Album category. And living gospel legend Rebecca continued her reign at the awards, adding the trophy for Best Traditional Faith Album to the dozen-plus SAMAs she already has adorning her mantelpiece.

The winners of the 20th Annual South African Music Awards are:

Album of the Year
Mafikizolo - Reunited

Duo or Group of the Year
Mafikizolo - Reunited

Female Artist of the Year
Zahara - Phendula

Male Artist of the Year
Kabomo  - Memory Remains

Newcomer of the Year
Naima Kay - Umsebenzi

Best Rock Album
Van Coke Kartel - Bloed, Sweet & Trane

Best Pop Album
Mafikizolo - Reunited

Beste Pop Album (Afrikaans)
Karlien van Jaarsveld - Uitklophou

Best Adult Contemporary Album
Shaun Jacobs - Love Can

Beste Kontemporêre Musiek Album
Elvis Blue - Afrikaans

Best African Adult Album
Zonke - Give and Take Live

Best Rap Album
iFani - I Believes in Me (1st Quadrant)

Best Kwaito Album
Big Nuz - Made in Africa

Best Dance Album
Mi Casa - Su Casa

Best Traditional Faith Music Album
Rebecca - Bayos'Khomba

Best Collaboration
Mafikizolo Ft May D - Happiness

Best Selling Album
Zahara - Phendula

Best Maskandi Album
Thokozani Langa - Inyakanyaka

Best Jazz Album
Shane Cooper - Oscillations

Lifetime Achievement Awards
Ladysmith Black Mambazo

International Achievement Award
Ladysmith Black Mambazo

SAMA 20 Industry Awards:

Best Contemporary Faith Music Album
Nqubeko Mbatha - Sentiments of a Worshiper

Best Traditional Album
Dr. Thomas Chauke Na Shinyori Sisters Shimatsatsa No 32

Best Alternative Album
Nakhane Touré - Brave Confusion

Best R&B/Soul/Reggae Album
The Soil Reflections - Live in Joburg

Best Classical and/or Instrumental Album
Guy Buttery - Live in KwaZulu

Best Live DVD
Zonke - Give and Take Live

Best Music Video of the Year
"Kyle Lewis Sleepwalker" by The Parlotones, Khuli Chana & Jon Savage

Best Producer of the Year
Darryl Torr Yes/No/Grey by Gangs of Ballet

Best Engineer of the Year
Peter Auret Pimp My Piano by Charl du Plessis

Remix of the Year
Oskido - "Tsa Ma Ndebele"

Best Selling DVD
Joyous Celebration Grateful Vol.17

Best Selling Ring-back Tone
Mafikizolo - "Khona"

Best Selling Full-track Download
Mafikizolo - "Khona"

Best Selling Total Downloads
Mafikizolo - "Khona"

Highest Airplay of the Year 2013
DJ Kent ft. The Arrows - "Spin My World Around"


Music Main Next

Add a comment

Latest News